Diocesan Council

Diocesan Council

Diocesan Council at Food BankThe Diocesan Council is the body of lay and clergy members of the diocese authorized by the canons of the diocese to “administer the missionary, educational, and social service work of the Church” in the Diocese of Oregon. The bishop presides at the meetings.

Diocesan Council oversees the creation of a budget each year to carry out this work, and has authority to create and prescribe the duties of program ministries and committees in support of the mission of the church in the diocese.

Membership of Diocesan Council is comprised of the bishop, the secretary, lay and clergy representatives elected by all convocations of the diocese, and lay and clergy members elected by Convention.

The members of Diocesan Council:

The Rt. Rev. Michael Hanley, Bishop
The Rev. Canon Neysa Ellgren Shepley, Secretary
Dee Anne Isham, Controller
Pete Baumer (St. James, Coquille)
The Rev. Deacon Kristina Burbank (St. James/Santiago, Lincoln City)
The Rev. Anne Emry (St. Paul's, Salem)
Joy Flowers (St. Edward's, Silverton)
Bud Furber (St. Gabriel's, Portland)
Len Goodwin (St. Matthew's, Eugene)
The Rev. Deacon Cindra Gray (St. Michael/San Miguel, Newberg)
The Rev. Dr. Patti Hale (St. Matthew's, Eugene)
The Rev. Fred Heard (St. Thomas, Dallas)
Ginger Hess (St. Gabriel, Portland)
The Rev. Deacon Diane Higgins (Calvary, Seaside)
The Rev. Roberto Maldonado (Holy Cross/Santa Cruz, Gresham)
Charles McGee II (Grace Memorial, Portland)
Byron McKinlay (St. Aidan's, Gresham)
Don Metheney (St. Mary's, Eugene)
Marcia Silicani Newberry (St. Luke's-by-the-Sea, Waldport)
The Rev. Deacon Meredith Pech (Trinity, Ashland)
Toni Phipps (St. Paul's, Salem)
The Rev. Raggs Ragan (St. John the Baptist, Portland)
Hana Rubens (St. Luke's, Grants Pass)
The Rev. Alison Schultz (Christ Church, Lake Oswego)
The Rev. Dr. Gavin Shumate (St. John's, Toledo)
The Rev. Tom Sramek, Jr. (St. Mark's, Medford)
Lianne Thompson (St. Catherine's, Manzanita/Nehalem)