Diocesan Convention Honorees for 2014

Diocesan Convention Honorees for 2014

Three persons were honored at the 2014 Diocesan Convention banquet for their extraordinary service to their communities, the diocese, and the Kingdom of God.

imageThe Bishop’s Cross Award went to the Rev. Alcena Boozer of Portland. Bishop Hanley recognized her as, “the first African-American woman ordained in the Diocese of Oregon. She has been a member of the Diocesan Council, Board of Trustees, Standing Committee, Bishop Search and Transition committees and other subcommittees and work groups. Her advocacy work has included co-founding the Commission to End Racism, she worked on the Ecumenical and Interfaith Commission, and she was past president of Ecumenical Ministries of Oregon and recipient of that organization’s highest award as ecumenist of the year. She is a recognized educator and served as principal of Jefferson High School, while working tirelessly and graciously to build racial understanding in the community and the church. She continues as a community advocate through her work with the Albina Ministerial Association.”

Bishop Michael Hanley also honored the ministry of John and Ellen Nesbitt.

“There are many people who give of their time and talent to the work of this diocese and from time to time we get a chance to say thank you to some of these people. Now it is fitting to say with a deep sense of gratitude a big THANK YOU to Ellen and John Nesbitt. These two individuals have moved to ‘that other diocese’ in this state and they will be greatly missed on this side of the mountain. Thanks to both of you for all of the ways you have nurtured and cared for the people and places in this diocese.”

Though both served on various diocesan committees and commissions, Ellen will be remembered for her tireless work for Episcopal Relief and Development (she is known outside of the diocese as, “the best ERD rep in the church.”). John initiated the diocesan disaster response efforts, was a member of various ecumenical clergy groups and was co-founder of the Commission to End Racism.